This map shows where states stand on the extra $300 weekly unemployment benefits

Personal finance

The Federal Emergency Management Agency, which is overseeing program funding, had approved 13 states to offer the extra unemployment benefits as of around noon ET on Friday. 

Those states are: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Utah.

Seven others — Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Indiana, Texas and West Virginia  have applied— a FEMA spokeswoman said Thursday. 

Officials in around 10 other states have signaled their intent to apply for the aid in recent days. South Dakota has said it will not apply for the subsidy. 

States approved for aid are guaranteed just three weeks of funding, with payments back-dated to the week ended Aug. 1. However, they may get more aid, depending on how many states apply and how quickly the money is drawn down. 

Not all unemployed workers are eligible for the payments. Those currently getting less than $100 a week in unemployment benefits won’t receive the assistance — amounting to thousands of people, and perhaps more than 1 million.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Wall Street employees begin to mask up again as Citigroup tells workers of new mandate
Robinhood CEO on the meme stock craze: ‘I think it’s a real thing’
Entertainers working in multiple states run into tax issues. Here are ways to avoid those problems
NYC mayoral race favorite Eric Adams privately seeks partnerships with business leaders
Shares of Singapore’s top banks jump after regulator lifts cap on dividend payouts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *